Keeping my glass always half full!

Laying in the quietness of the night as I get ready to fall asleep, I quickly run though my day, analyzing good things I’ve done and all the things I want to do for myself and include them in my everyday life.

 In the morning I try to remember that and focus on all the little things I can do to improve myself that make a big picture.

 At times, I feel bad that I haven’t done something, or wish I would have done it differently.  I’ll remember while lying in bed that I forgot to stretch after my workout, that I need to bring my lunches with me and eat out less, that I need to drink more water and little things like that. I try not to be too hard on myself and promise myself I’ll do better tomorrow.

 But there are some things we can all do to simplify our life and to take steps to ensure we’re doing the right things.

 One of those things for me is drinking water.

Not just when you’re thirsty, (actually by that point your body is already dehydrated) or when I work out, but drinking clean, pure water throughout the day and plenty of it. 

We all kind of know that we’re mostly consisting of water, that it purifies our bodies and that we need to drink plenty to be healthy.  But how many people actually drink 8 glasses a day? Some…

 For me, it has become my daily ritual. At first it was hard, I felt like I was forcing myself and 2.2 liters seemed like a lot (that’s 8 glasses).

What helped me the most is a simple bottle. It’s a plastic bottle that is 2.2 liters (8 glasses) and is a daily recommended dose.

 In the morning, when I get to work, I fill up the bottle with filtered water and keep it under my desk. I pour it into a nice glass and keep it on my desk, making sure there is always some water in it.

It really did the trick!

 Every time I look at the glass I automatically reach for a sip. It became like a little game, and I always feel so good when I finish it, because I know what good it’s doing for my body. It also becomes a habit. You start wanting it. Some habits are good to develop, I like the fact that when I drive to work, I don’t have to think about where to turn, I am kind of on auto pilot.

So many things throughout the day require our concentration and undivided attention, but if you can simplify a few things, why wouldn’t you?

Image

About alinaskye

Hello, my name is Alina. I am a local artist and a jewelry designer. I have lived and worked in Nashville for little over 5 years now during which I have discovered many interests I am passionate about, including painting with oils and acrylics, mixed media and jewelry design. Working in an art environment, I currently work at the Frist Center for the Visual Arts, have greatly inspired me in many ways. Skye is a self chosen name, which I think best suits me. It represents the sky and heavens above, vast and ever-changing. It came to me when I allowed myself to accept that there are as many opportunities as they are stars in the sky; through the process of soul searching, letting go of fears and doubts –self-made limitations. From that liberating process a new idea and dreams were born, and so did Alina Skye. When I started painting it wasn't out of casual interest or to adopt a new hobby, it came from an intense desire to somehow project all the various emotions and feelings I was experiencing at that time. I needed an outlet for my creativity. Somehow I wanted to convey my personal experience of life through art. My influences are everything I see, feel and experience as well as the things that I've come to understand along the way. My artwork is deeply personal and rewarding to me. Through art I hope to transform a simple perception into something deeper. Symbolism is used to convey ideas that are sometimes overlooked in the business of our everyday lives. I hope to inspire others to look at ourselves as more than just a mere physical body, but to uncover the beautiful immortality of spirit that is hidden within us all.

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

